We welcome you to

Meet our Pastor, Staff, and Leaders

The work at GSLCL has been very challenging and just as rewarding. We, at GSLCL, look forward to meeting, greeting, and worshiping with you.

Good Shepherd Lutheran Church Council 2023

Our Pastor Joyce

Pastor Joyce came to GSLCL as a transition pastor half time, in 2021 as the congregation was going through a process of change. The CoVid epidemic was at its height and the previous pastor looked to change her call. Assigned by the Dean of the Hudson Mohawk Conference, under contract, Pastor Joyce joined with the leadership to navigate the challenging church environment. The goal is to prepare the congregation to call a pastor, and this is in progress as the paperwork with the synod is completed to find the right pastoral candidate.

After decades of work in public health nursing supervision and administration, Pastor Joyce attended Lutheran Seminary in Philadelphia (now known as United Seminary) and was ordained in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) by the Upstate NY Synod. She served half-time as a called pastor at St. Andrew LC in South Glens Falls for nine years. Thinking she was finished with her service, she began to do transition work and will remain at GSLCL until a called pastor is found.

Joyce Fiore standing in the Sancuary at Good Shepherd Lutheran Church in Loudonville NY

She is a widow after 54 years of marriage to Denis and has two children: Cheryl and Eric who is married to Yolanda. Passionate about classical music, especially opera, and a great deal of current popular music and travel anywhere she can arrange, she finds herself quite busy.

our Administrative Assistant, our musical director, and our maintenance man!

Our Congregational Officers

The following people have been elected by the congregation to positions of leadership. We give thanks for their willingness to serve. In Baptism we are welcomed into the body of Christ and sent to share in the mission of God; we rejoice now that these sisters and brothers will lead us in our common life and our mutual mission as a congregation.

  • Danny Patrick – President
  • Mike Serge – Vice President
  • Patti Kopach – Secretary
  • Jeff Emptage – Treasurer
  • Atif Dean
  • Kathy Ingalls
  • Nancy Layne
  • Carol Phelps
  • Susan Spofford
  • Meg Winters
  • Maryanne Sangiacomo
  • Elizabeth Sickler
  • Marie Wertman